I`ve Been Splog`d
Sunday, November 12, 2006 15:31 | 3,304 views
I was checking Corey's blog comments on the Public Ridicule Begins post, and I got to Diane's plug on another site that has some useful information on Copyright infringement on your articles . I Made a comment on Corey's post about how I don't have people stealing my content. I guess I spoke too soon.
I got this person stealing this article and using it to make money on this page.
So I did what Lorelle VanFossen suggested by sending an e-mail to them. Using Lorelle VanFossen's suggested letter.
This is to advise you that you are using copyrighted and protected material on your website/blog. Your illegal use of Canadian Blog Awards article at http://1mlmpro.com/blogs/Humor—Entertainment/747021/ is originally from my blog called MacBros' Place at http://www.macbrosplace.com/canadian-blog-awards-2/. This is original content and I am the author and copyright holder. Use of copyright protected material without permission is illegal under copyright laws.
Please take one or more of the following actions immediately:
- Provide compensation for use of my copyright protected material of $100.00 CDN paid via [paypal].
- Remove the plagiarized material immediately.
I expect a response within 5 days to this issue. Thank you for your immediate action on this matter.
If they don't either pay me $100.00 or remove the article within 5 days, I guess GoDaddy.com will hear from me next.
The thing that really gets me is that if you look at their copy on this page, it even reads:
[ MacBros Place 2006 Copyright Feed -8Opinion Entitlement8- No Commercial Use Permitted ]
"No Commercial Use Permitted" and then they go ahead and use it on their commercial site. That looks to be designed by a 2 year old IMHO.
Do they honestly think that just by putting a link to the original post makes it OK to steal my content, and that they found it via Google Blog Search says they just stole it from them instead?
Did they not see the digital fingerprint?
Now I feel all special, now that my crap is good enough to steal. ![]()
PAY FOR IT! No seriousely, I need the money!













November 12th, 2006 at 9:58 pm
They didn’t see your fingerprint. The scrape is done by a script. Godaddy is their registrar, not their host. This post is not likely the only one they snagged. Their site looks like shit (especially in FF). They are hosted in a country that doesn’t care about our rights. You’ll be well advised to add Antileech to your arsenal, so that you can add them your “special” IP addresses which get screwey content. Good lock my friend. It looks like if Google can index your site, you may be this scum’s victim.
November 12th, 2006 at 10:41 pm
It seems their host NETCONTACTER.COM is just as bad.
I’ll just do what MaxPower has been doing. Going the legal rout, if it doesn’t get resolved.
November 12th, 2006 at 11:05 pm
Just as bad? I’d be surprised if they aren’t one in the same. So much for international relations and international law. That step is the next on my list. I was thinking about emailing some of the other blogs being stolen to get them to help out, as well. That;’s the small redemption – a small link back to your article, in small print, after the fact.
November 13th, 2006 at 12:47 am
Dang it, they removed the illegal links from their site. All I get when I click on your links is their puny search box. I think your compensation e-mail may have rattled a few earrings on these guys.
November 13th, 2006 at 9:04 am
Yup. Looks like they got the message. \
/
Would have preferred the $100 though.
November 13th, 2006 at 10:15 am
I’m glad to see that the situation was resolved. One thing to consider in the future though is the possibility of just sending a DMCA to Adsense Adsense and then sending another DMCA notice to the host (after the Adsense account gets cut). That cripples the spam blogger in the larger picture.
Well, at least it hurts them more.
Anyway, congrats on the kill!
November 13th, 2006 at 10:32 am
That was my next step Jonathan.
I know I should have done that first so AdSense would be able to see them in the illegal action before they took the page down.
As for the host. I believe they are hosting themselves.
November 13th, 2006 at 11:46 am
They’re hosted outside the US, so the DMCA would not hold much weight with their hosting. They took the link to my article down as well (thats two of mine!) The next instance will be punished by a DMCA to the search engines.
November 13th, 2006 at 4:09 pm
Umm, but AdSense would still have to adhere to the DMCA, resulting of them closing the thief’s account.