MacBros’ Place |

Everybody’s Entitled To My Opinion
RSS Feed

TVSETMP3.COM INSTALLS VIRUS!

Friday Jan 11, 2008

Virus AlertWhile checking the stats on my blogs, I noticed one of the referrers was ‘tvsetmp3|dot|com

So I was curious and wanted to see why there were so many referrers coming from there and to all my sites.

First of all I was introduced to a redirect to bestdailyvids|dot|com (don’t go there either BTW) and then I was prompted to download an ActiveX setup.exe file from mvvproduction|dot|com (wouldn’t recommend going there either).

The plug-in prompts were on a loop and wouldn’t let me ‘X’ out of the window. It was either an ALT+CTRL+DEL action but knowing I have a good Anti Virus (AVG) and have gone through a plug-in setup before, I knew that with Firefox I would be prompted to save the file first and could ‘X’ out of the window without even having to close the download prompt since it opens up it’s own window.

Thanks to AVG, it even warned me with a Warning Window that the following file was a virus and asked me what it should do with it (the link) and I didn’t hesitate to press the Heal button to drop the entire thing from my screen.

I didn’t want to just say these sites were dangerous, I also wanted to show how I found out and what I did. I wouldn’t recommend trying this out, I’m not sure what the virus was, as I didn’t really care, all I wanted was to get away from it.

So heads up. Stay away from tvsetmp3|dot|com.

UPDATE! Add ’sviolett|dot|com’ to that list! tvsetmp3 one has been shut down so they are trying another tactic.

What we need to do is file a complaint against mvvproduction|dot|com which is the actual site with the virus, and also bestdailyvids|dot|com.

They are both registered with eastdomains.com. You can report the abuse by following this link.

After trying to fill out the abuse form there was a prompt basically saying they won’t do anything and it’s in the hands of the host. It appears they are hosting themselves.

What can we do to report them then? Anybody know?

8 Comments »

Thanks for the warning. It’s good for us bloggers to share these things and avoid harmful viruses like that.

January 11th, 2008 | 9:50 pm

I wrote a post on a site called tvsetmp3|dot|com that tries to install a virus on your computer by installing an activeX plug-in. To avoid duplicate postings across all my web sites I’ll just refer you to the original post.TVSETMP3.COM INSTALLS VIRUS!Tags: virus, activeX, plug-in Leave Comment » | Posted in Announcements Tagged: activeX, plug in, virus

January 11th, 2008 | 11:38 pm

This is just a warning about a site that showed up in my stats across most of my web sites. tvsetmp3|dot|com tries to install an ActiveX plug-in that contains a virus. To avoid multiple posting across my web sites I will providea link to the original post here. TVSETMP3.COM INSTALLS VIRUS! Tags: virus, activeX, plug-in

January 11th, 2008 | 11:46 pm

Ditto… Thanks for the warning…

January 12th, 2008 | 5:15 pm

Ditto for me too.

January 12th, 2008 | 6:31 pm

No problems folks. Just doing what is right. :-b

January 12th, 2008 | 8:25 pm
Lainie Lainie:

I’m glad you’ve cleared up that mystery for me - I’ve had them in my stats too and like you I followed the link the first time. Thanks for the info - I shall just ignore them in future.

January 13th, 2008 | 6:30 pm

I just came across it also. Anyone have any suggestions as to what to do about it.

February 21st, 2008 | 1:44 am

This is just text ss_blog_claim=b72df72715553c06acc21528f9832044